Skip to content

Pulitzers Take II: Congo wins (sort of)

April 21, 2009

So I took my Pulitzer-day swipe at newspaper publishers yesterday, and today I am in slightly better humor and want to congratulate Lynn Nottage on her Pulitzer for “Ruined,” a play about sexual violence in Congo. We in the West may not stop these things, but at least we have the good sense to give prestigious awards to people who write about them. (Except, of course, for me. Although I’m totally open to that. Anyone…anyone…?)

I haven’t seen “Ruined,” but I’ve heard amazing things. So go buy tickets, before it moves to Broadway and you can’t afford to see it.

(And a shout out to Amy Nutt, whose almost-Pulitzer story was so popular that lots of people searching for it wound up at my blog! If I only I were making money off of hits somehow…)

One Comment leave one →
  1. AfroVoltaire permalink
    May 7, 2009 4:35 am

    I was quite proud (which is in a way very sad) to see this play awarded…

Leave a Reply

